new here

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
Annette

new here

Post by Annette » Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:38 pm

Hi, I'm Annette. I'm brand new to HOD,but I'm SO excited. I homeschooled my older kids for a while several years ago, but now they are in public school (8th grade and 12th) and have no desire whatsoever to go back to homeschooling. But my 3 younger ones will be doing HOD. I have 9 and 11 year old girls who are going to start homeschooling for the first time this fall. I'm using CTC with both of them and purchased the extension package for my 11 year old, but my 9 year old wants to read the books too. They're both very strong readers. My 4 year old son will be doing LHTH.

I do have a couple of questions. First of all, can anyone give me advice on how to schedule. My girls are sharing books (except workbooks) and except for DIH. My older one is in the 6/7/8 and the younger in 4/5? Also I'd like ideas on what to do on the 5th day. I'd also like some other ideas on things to do with my preschooler or have him do independently. He's 4 and a half, but developmentally,he's more like a 3 and a half year old. I'm pretty much an ADD type person, so I know I do much better with structure, but I really have trouble coming up with a schedule from scratch. If anyone can give me any ideas or advice, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

Annette
Annette
Wife to Jim (20 years)
Mom to Michael(17), Cory (14) in public school
Kelley (11), Haley(9) CTC
James (4) LHTH

my3sons

Re: new here

Post by my3sons » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:47 pm