Help choosing for 2 children...

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
Lynnielou

Help choosing for 2 children...

Post by Lynnielou » Wed May 12, 2010 1:52 pm

Hi everyone,

I am new to HOD, but not to homeschooling. Have been homeschooling my dd for 5 years. She is in 4th grade (finished today). My ds is 7, and just finished 2nd grade yesterday!
We have used ABEKA, from the start, and only ABEKA. Some years we would use ABEKA Academy (DVD's), some years, I would teach 1:1.

Started both kids before they were 5, in ABEKA's kindergarten program, so they are a "little" ahead, age-wise.

Both my children are bored stiff. They seem to need change. My daugther hates school, and I don't think it has to be this way. This is why I am seeking a new curriculum.

I like ABEKA, I guess b/c I am used to it, and it is all I know, but for my dd's sake, I have to make this change. So, with this opportunity, I want to find a way to bring the two children more closely together in their studies.I l
HOD is the one I seem to come back to over and over, in my search.
I like some of the others, that are similar, but this one holds the most appeal.

A friend gave me some info. on Beautiful Feet, and the Noah Plan, etc., but I am just not sure. I will have to continue to research, to rule these and others out, if I decide to go with HOD.

Now, my dilemma is which program, within HOD to go with. I know it depends on my kids, but hoping you ladies could gently "guide" me, based on experience.