Suggestions, please...

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
ash

Suggestions, please...

Post by ash » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:31 pm

Hello!

I recently discovered HOD and cannot wait to start using it! Our family just began homeschooling in Jan. so I am completely new to everything but this curriculum looks incredible and the excitement on here is absolutely contagious! Our older two used Abeka since k5 in school to now at home. They're in 4th grade (son) and 1st grade (daughter). If I go by my 'circles' on the placement chart my oldest would be in between CTC and Preparing, I'd lean toward Preparing for reading practice. My daughter would probably fit right into Bigger on the young end, she'll be 7 in June.

My dilemma is that I would REALLY like to do the same thing with both of them using Bigger. I know it has extensions for 4th/5th grade but I am just concerned about my son being on the oldest end (5th in fall) and if this would be a bad thing for him. I love the biblical character traits part of it and he loves American history. I will place them in their appropriate math/language area so I just don't know if I should worry about the rest being a little off?? I'd also like them together because we'll have a kindergartener in the fall and I know I will need to focus a lot of time on him.

Lastly, would I be crazy to go ahead and get it and start now??? With what we have I feel like I spend chunks of time preparing to teach a 'class' of one times 2 plus the things I do with our 4 year old. Our oldest is not having a pleasant experience and we basically dropped his history and just go to the library and read as a family on similar topics from more interesting books.