Working while Homeschooling

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
melmore

Working while Homeschooling

Post by melmore » Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:14 am

I am new at homeschool and beginning Bigger Hearts w/ my daughter this coming school year. I am anxious and wanted to know if there were any mom's out there that do work and homeschool. If so, how does it work for you? I only work 24 hours/week.

lmercon

Re: Working while Homeschooling

Post by lmercon » Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:00 pm

I only work on Thursdays, so we just do four days a week. It pushes the summer break back, but that's what works for us. I think you will find HOD to be a program that will really work for a working hs mom such as yourself. The readings and activities are short but purposeful. You may want to look ahead at the manual and plan your daily schedule around your availability. Save the more independent activities for the time you work. I don't have much advice to offer, but I wanted to encourage you in your hsing journey. HOD is really fantastic!
Laura
Wife to a great guy and mommy to:
Ds(15) - using WG and loving it!
Dd(11) - using Res.to Ref and having a blast!
Ds (3) - our joy!
Two little ones in the arms of Jesus - I can't wait to hold you in Heaven!

Emilylou

Post by Emilylou » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:34 pm

I just finished LHFHG and we are starting Beyond in the fall. I work 3-11 2 nights a week.
It doesn't interfere with homeschooling except I am tired after working until 11:00pm. I usually go to bed early.

Hope this helps.
~ Lisa
Wife to Stephen, mom to dd almost 5 and ds 6 1/2

water2wine

Post by water2wine » Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:15 pm