Rod and Staff Teacher's Guides

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
MarinaDatthyn

Rod and Staff Teacher's Guides

Post by MarinaDatthyn » Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:42 am

Hi! My son will be in 5th grade next year and using Rod and Staff book 4 for grammar (he has gone through 2 and 3 and done well). Do I need the teacher's guide next year? I'm an English lit major, so I will definitely know if he has the right answer, but is there other stuff in the guide that is helpful? Such as HOW to teach or what to say to help them "get it?" I have no actual teaching background so sometimes I struggle with that side of things! Thank you!

StephanieU

Re: Rod and Staff Teacher's Guides

Post by StephanieU » Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:28 am

There are instructions at the bottom of each page, which do help. Also, even though I am very good at grammar, I find the answer key helpful to reassure myself of things. Level 4 gets into things I learned in 7th grade in an advanced, honors English class, with diagramming prepositional phrases, etc. I don't think I was ever wrong on things like that, but I loved the reassurance.
Mom to
DD15 US1 (completed LHFHG-WH)
DS13 MtMM (completed LHFHG-Rev2Rev plus some of LHTH)
DD12 Rev2Rev (completed LHTH-RtR)
DS7 Beyond (completed LHTH-LHFHG)

StephanieU

Post by StephanieU » Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:31 am

Sights like Milestone Books have samples you can see, if you want to look at those.
Mom to
DD15 US1 (completed LHFHG-WH)
DS13 MtMM (completed LHFHG-Rev2Rev plus some of LHTH)
DD12 Rev2Rev (completed LHTH-RtR)
DS7 Beyond (completed LHTH-LHFHG)

momtofive

Post by momtofive » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:35 am