Another Question - LHFHG - Italic?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
HSMom

Another Question - LHFHG - Italic?

Post by HSMom » Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:48 pm

Okay, so I'm really new to this and am confused by the italic option for the handwriting choice. I did a quick search and understand the difference between italic and traditional cursive, but do you teach your child italic instead of print or along side print? It seems confusing for the child either way. :? If I choose to go the print route, will I be able to introduce italic later? What the benefits of doing one versus the other?

Thanks! Sorry to have so many questions!! :oops:
~Christina
dd ('11) - LHFHG '17/'18
ds ('14)
dd ('16)

StephanieU

Re: Another Question - LHFHG - Italic?

Post by StephanieU » Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:30 pm

There is italic print and standard print. If you Google Getty-Dubay alphabet, you will see samples of that "font." It is slightly different than the font used for A Reason for Handwriting. If you plan on going into italic cursive, then normally you want to do italic print.
Mom to
DD15 US1 (completed LHFHG-WH)
DS13 MtMM (completed LHFHG-Rev2Rev plus some of LHTH)
DD12 Rev2Rev (completed LHTH-RtR)
DS7 Beyond (completed LHTH-LHFHG)

Rice

Post by Rice » Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:28 pm

Italic manuscript and "standard" manuscript are just 2 different fonts. You would choose to give instruction only in one (unless you have a very interested/artistic child and choose to do the other more as "art"/calligraphy, almost. ;) ).

I chose my manuscript (and cursive) instruction options based on what I was comfortable reproducing myself; what I was familiar with.