Beyond vs. Bigger

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
kc&sc

Beyond vs. Bigger

Post by kc&sc » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:03 pm

I am new to HOD, and struggling with the choice between Beyond and Bigger. My children are 8 and 9, and I plan to group them together. We have been using Mystery of History and just completed Volume 2. We have been enjoying the journey so far, but I feel drawn to HOD. I just don't know which guidebook would make for a better transition. Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

Jennymommy

Re: Beyond vs. Bigger

Post by Jennymommy » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:49 pm

It is generally wise to go with the younger guide and do extensions for the older child. But first, where do they place on the charts? That will help us to help you :D You could also print the sample weeks for each guide and compare them side-by-side.

kc&sc

Post by kc&sc » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:15 pm

My daughter: reading independently, able to form her own sentences in manuscript, currently working on simple dictation, learning cursive letter formation, math Singapore 2B, understanding of basic grammar, starting working on diagramming sentences. My son: emerging reader, able to complete copywork in manuscript, ready to begin simple dictation, learning cursive letter formation (struggling a bit), starting Math-U-See Gamma, understanding of basic grammar, starting working on diagramming sentences.
Again, I appreciate your help! Thanks :)

Jennymommy

Post by Jennymommy » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:32 pm