I need your opinion

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
Statuto123

I need your opinion

Post by Statuto123 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:16 am

I am brand new to home schooling. I haven't even started yet. I am picking my curriculum for next year and need your help. My son is currently in 5th grade and my daughter is in 4th grade, so I am looking for a 5th and 6th grade equivalent curriculum. They have both done well in private school this year, but for many reasons we have decided to start home schooling (mostly due to our children spending many nights and many weekends on school). I have decided to use HOD, but I am having trouble deciding which curriculum to use. I am leaning toward Resurrection to Reformation, but I am a little concerned it could be too hard for my 5th grade daughter. Most everything I have read so far describes it as a middle school curriculum and I don't want her to be discouraged in any way. One of the ways to decide on a curriculum is by cursive writing??? My daughter has learned cursive, but can't write cursive currently on her own. How to know if it is the right program?? Please help me decide.

MomtoJGJE

Re: I need your opinion

Post by MomtoJGJE » Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:25 am

I'd start them at a lower level honestly. I have a daughter who will be going into 5th grade next year and I would definitely not put her in Res to Ref. My 6th grader is working through it, but if she hadn't done the previous guides I'd probably not put her in it either.

Where do they fit individually according to the placement chart?