Taking books overseas

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
Mission mom

Taking books overseas

Post by Mission mom » Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:22 am

Hi! I'm new to the message board and I am looking for advice for the next four or so years of curriculum. My husband and I are new missionaries in the "support raising" stage and we hope to have enough support to go to the field (Papua New Guinea) in summer of 2015. Because we're moving to the other side of the world and probably won't be back in the U.S. for four years, I'm trying to organize and plan for as much as possible for the next four years of our lives. My oldest child is about to turn six and is in BLHFHG for 1st grade. Next years' books(Bigger Hearts) look manageable, but past that I'm getting a little overwhelmed with the number of books we'll need to purchase and pack up. For those who have used Preparing Hearts, CTC, and Resurrection to Reformation, are there books you skipped, books you found for Kindle, or any other options that might reduce the amount of books we're packing up? We can have relatives ship our books to us each year, but I've been told that not everything in packages always make it through customs without being "misplaced" during the checking process. Or worse, the package doesn't arrive at all. I would hate to lose an entire box of school books! Any advice or suggestions?

Jennymommy

Re: Taking books overseas

Post by Jennymommy » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:23 pm

I have wondered about this for other missionary friends. Wouldn't it be great if you could purchase the guides in electronic format? One friend did "lose" her first set of curriculum and had to re-order. I will be watching this thread to see what suggestions come up.

MelInKansas