Feeling Discouraged...

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
ThatRedheadGal

Feeling Discouraged...

Post by ThatRedheadGal » Mon Sep 09, 2013 12:59 pm

Hi all! This is my first time posting. I'm just beginning our homeschooling journey with my almost 4.5 son and we're on our 3rd week of LHTH. The first week went pretty great, but now he has almost lost all interest. As soon as he sees me pull out the book, he starts whining...and it doesn't stop.

I try my best to make it fun, but unfortunately, I'm a pretty boring, introverted, not-very-creative person and I'm running out of ideas! It's so frustrating! He constantly asks to play, watch TV or says, "Can we stop now?" When I say no, it just adds more fuel to the fire. He knows all of his letters, so we're pretty much working on the letter sounds and identifying numbers. He wants nothing to do with the finger plays and/or singing, he acts like I'm embarrassing him to death when I try. We go to co-op, play-dates and church weekly.

Could this behavior in part be due to a discipline issue? I want learning to be fun for him and I hate to even think about sending him to public school next year :( . I don't know what to do...any advice or suggestions? Thanks!
Megan

Noah (4) - LHTH

raindrops

Re: Feeling Discouraged...

Post by raindrops » Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:26 pm

What does he enjoy doing with you? You could add more of that INTO your "schoolwork". Maybe board games or hide and seek (could link it to the bible... like "I am Noah and you are the animal, come find me and get on the ark", then ride him around piggyback... or whatever).

Does he like being read to? Maybe feed him snacks as treats during school... but not if he is whining.