New to HOD and have 2 questions

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
IronMan's mom

New to HOD and have 2 questions

Post by IronMan's mom » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:42 pm

Hi all. I am new to HOD and have 2 questions for which I need answers before I purchase lhfhg for my soon-to-be kindergartner.
1: When he takes his standardized testing each year, does this curriculum teach in all areas that will be on the test?
2: If we desire a switch to a different curriculum at some point (ex: say he becomes a more independent learner) such as ACE or Switched on Schoolhouse or some other method, will he be able to make that transition or will there be learning gaps because it's a different method of study? (Possible scenario: 7th grade comes around and we switch to something else, but because he hasn't learned pre-algebra, we have to supplement and play catch?)

I look forward to your answers (any who may be reading). :D

StephanieU

Re: New to HOD and have 2 questions

Post by StephanieU » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:57 pm

I have found HOD to be on schedule with other curriculums. There will be differences on what order science and history are covered, but this normally isn't a problem unless it is high school (due to state requirements for what history/social studies credits a student must have). As for math, HOD is on the normal schedule. Normally Algebra 1 is a freshman level course, just like HOD had scheduled.