Grass is Greener Syndrome...help?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
mama247

Grass is Greener Syndrome...help?

Post by mama247 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:23 am

Hi Ladies,

How do some of you avoid the "grass is greener" syndrome? I go through phases where I feel very confident in our schooling choices and feel we are on a good course. And then, I will talk to other homeschooling moms and hear about what they are doing for schooling and I start to wonder if maybe I should switch things up.

We have used HOD for two years and we are happy. I am fairly new to homeschooling so maybe that's part of the feelings of uncertainty. I know HOD is very well written and covers all of the important academics. We enjoy the book selections and the CM methods used throughout.

So I guess it's my own confidence, not in the curriculum necessarily.

Any "seasoned" mothers out there care to share tidbits on how you stay the course with confidence and not really worry about what others are doing?

I appreciate any helpful words of wisdom! :)

andreamichele13

Re: Grass is Greener Syndrome...help?

Post by andreamichele13 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:37 am

How poignant and appropriate for how many of us probably feel!!!! I have no words of wisdom, however, b/c I'm new to homeschooling too!!!! :)
ds, age 14
ds, age 8
dd, age 6
one on the way in September 2014!

John'smom

Post by John'smom » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:47 am

I would say it is probably because you are newer to homeschooling. Have you only ever used HOD?