Beyond or Bigger for my 2nd grader?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
ruby2273

Beyond or Bigger for my 2nd grader?

Post by ruby2273 » Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:37 pm

Hi. I'm new to the message boards. I'm planning on using HOD next year with my 2nd grader and can't figure out where to place him. I've read the placement charts many times, but am still unsure. He has been in public school for two years and in a "good" district. They are whipping along in reading with the Trophies reading program, which seems like "phony phonics" to me and going slowly in math with Everyday Math. He is in the highest reading group in school and is advanced in math. I know he should be in Singapore 1B next fall. We are going through the 1A workbook to supplement what he's getting in school but I can't figure out if I should put him in Beyond or Bigger for language arts and history. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

my3sons

Re: Beyond or Bigger for my 2nd grader?

Post by my3sons » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:32 pm

Hi ruby2273, and welcome to the board! :D How exciting you are on the brink of homeschooling your ds! It was just about 9 years ago that I made that same decision, and we have not looked back since. :D We love using HOD in our home. I would be glad to help with placement for your ds.

Having taught Beyond... and Bigger each several times, I'd say one of the biggest differences is the amount of writing. Bigger Hearts has much more than Beyond does. Carrie had these comments about choosing between Beyond and Bigger in another thread...